reserve

Testimonials

  • Dream Vacation — I'm lost for words quite honestly, so much could and should be said about this hotel. Perfect location, ideal staff, breakfast, lunch, drinks, beach, room, balcony, sunrise, sunset. I will be back in a heartbeat. Huge thanks to Juan, Jesus, Maria, Pablo, Julianna for welcoming us and making us feel at home. Vlad192837, TripAdvisor, May 2012
  • Great hotel. Great value! — My husband and I took our first trip to Playa and booked our hotel strictly using the reviews on TripAdvisor. This one got consistently good reviews so we decided to book it. It's not 5 star, but I'm not sure you would find a 5 star hotel right in town, at least not one that most people can afford. When we travel, especially when we are outside of the US, we like to somewhat experience the culture of where we are visiting. Do not like Americanized hotels in other countries, but do want to be comfortable and have a nice clean space. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and personable. The hotel is small so they quickly know who you are and greet you warmly as you come and go. We really enjoyed the beach right in front of the hotel and the pool to freshen up in prior to heading up to our room after we had been to the beach. LOVED the breakfast on the beach each morning... srh1234, TripAdvisor, May 2012
  • Great Location, nice and local... — Ideally located on the beach, nestled between a number of larger, tackier resorts. The staff were friendly, polite and not at all pushy. Decent breakfast and a decent price for what we got! Diving_Under, TripAdvisor, May 2012
  • 1st Wedding Anniversary at Playa Maya — This was my 6th stay at Playa Maya, 3rd with my husband. It is still a wonderful hotel. The last 3 visits have been extra special. PM helped my (now)husband plan a nice set up 3 years ago to propose to me on the beach. Last year we went for our honeymoon & back this year for our anniversary. When we arrived there was special towel art on the bed with rose petals, welcoming us for our anniversary. The hotel continues to be consistant, clean and has wonderful service. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. The food is still DELICIOUS. The fish tacos and coconut shrimp are still some of the best food I have ever eaten. They blend some of the best cocktails in Playa, the mango margaritas are acceptional. The included breakfasts are delicious and filling, not just a small continental breakfast many other hotels offer... bizzokiki, TripAdvisor, May 2012
  • Excellent Location and Value... — The location cannot be beat and is right off of 5th Avenue. The rooms seem fairly well insulated against noise despite its location which is near some nightclubs, etc....  chauddog, TripAdvisor, May 2012
  • great location, great staff... — All the positive reviews are accurate in my opinion. This is a great place if you want to be on the beach, nice views of the ocean and Cozumel, walking distance to everything in Playa but still have a nice, safe, quiet place to relax when you have had enough of the hectic pace of 5th Ave. As others have said, this is not a 5 star luxury hotel or all inclusive so if that is what you like do not stay here unless you want to try something different. We like smaller more intimate places and like to venture out and try a variety of places to eat and drink (quality over quantity) ... The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I have never given any location 5 stars overall. KmartRaleigh_NC, TripAdvisor, April 2012
  • Fantastic location, quiet room — Although I have been to PDC many times, I was not sure where to stay since this was my first solo trip. I made a wonderful choice in Playa Maya. The room was clean and large, the staff was incredibly friendly and I felt safe and welcome. The hotel is in the center of town, right on the beach and a block away from virtually anything. Even though the nightlife was alive all around, the room was quiet and spacious and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. I met up with my night owl friends and the location made it very easy to go anywhere...  2dkdkd, TripAdvisor, April 2012
  • Great hotel on the beach! — All of the staff were friendly and efficient. Lorenzo was especially great. They never pestered us but were always nearby if we happened to want to order a drink or lunch. Speaking of food, the breakfast was completely satisfactory. The lunch was even better. I favored the ceviche mixto while my daughter preferred the octopus tacos. My husband and other daughter were crazy for the fish tacos. Good and reasonable and we didn't need to leave the hotel until the evening when we would go out to eat. We would definitely recommend this place to all our friends.  BlackHillsSovia, TripAdvisor, April 2012
  • Fantastic location — The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and close to a lot of restaurants. The hotel staff were always very friendly and willing to assist. We had a room on the 3rd floor and enjoyed the elevated view out to the ocean...  bpbm, TripAdvisor, April 2012
  • We'll be back! — We just returned from our 1st trip to Playa del Carmen and can't say enough about our stay at Playa Maya. The location is great and the hotel is safe, very clean and well maintained. Bathrooms are modern with good water pressure and the AC works well... There is always a place available to lounge on the beach and the staff is nearby to assist if you need anything whether it's an umbrella, a drink or lunch.They don't push - they just keep an eye on things and appear when you need help. Breakfast on the beach is included and delicious. Lunch couldn't be beat either so why go elsewhere -- we never left the beach during the day. The staff is excellent and helped with anything we needed. When we first arrived, they simply appeared to carry our luggage across the beach to the hotel since Calle 8 deadends at the beach. Although this not a fancy luxury resort hotel, you will have everything you need and more. The refigerator was stocked with some drinks for our enjoyment and a large bottle of water was delivered daily. It is a testament to Playa Maya that most guests were repeat customers and the staff mentioned their goal was to make sure we relaxed and enjoyed our stay so we would come back -- they've got it right IMO. The hotel is one block from all the action on 5th Ave and we enjoyed walking and people watching each night after trying different restaurants... Cottonhead, TripAdvisor, March 2012
  • Second time even better — This was our second stay and was even more perfect than the first... Our room was always so clean---our cleaning person was in and out before we even noticed and the room always was spotless. The waitstaff was wonderful and we are still thinking about those shrimp tacos. :) One thing I want to talk about is how incredible the front desk staff has been to us. Always trying to teach us a little Spanish and going out of their way to always help. We are returning the same time next year and staying at Playa Maya again!!! Thank you to Steve & all of the staff at Playa Maya! Trish0517, TripAdvisor, March 2012
  • Consistent excellence — This was our 8th stay there, 4 for 2 weeks and 4 for 3 weeks ... What is there to like about Playa Maya? First, and foremost, the staff! Many of them are long-time employees and you can't beat the feeling of landing on the beach at the foot of 8th street to be greeted by a round of handshakes and hugs as they grab the bags. Watching them day after day, they truly seem to be one big happy family. They eat lunch together in the afternoons and the restautrant is often filled with laughter. Long-time employees are the essence of consistent delivery. Along with that, the rooms are generous, the housekeeping is top notch, the food is amongst the best in Playa del Carmen, there is always a beach chair waiting for you, the service never stops and you are right around the corner from all that Playa del Carmen has to offer. And, just enough around the corner to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep while the disco's boom a few blocks away.  YWGDon, TripAdvisor, March 2012
  • Just as good the second time around! — I can't really say anything else that hasn't already been said about this place. I do know that we won't stay anywhere else when we come to PDC. You have got to give this place a try!  packerfan2, TripAdvisor, March 2012
  • Top 10 Reasons Playa Maya is Still our Favorite — (10) One block from 5th Avenue...close to the action yet quiet at night. You are no more than a few blocks from the best restaurants and shopping .... (1) Fantastic staff -- the waiters, cooks, housekeepers, desk staff, and cabana boys are the friendliest, happiest, and most appreciative we've found anywhere...and the same staff are here year after year -- what does that tell you about this being a great place to stay and to work. NorthPaw42, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • Excellent hotel by the beach. — The staff are really friendly and helpful. This is our first time at playa Maya and definitely will come back again.  Joy S, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • Not Enough Superlatives — After many years of vacations on the (quite beautiful) resorts that dot the Riviera Maya, we decided to break out this year and vacation on our own terms. A lucky reservation cancellation landed us a room ... at the Playa Maya during the week of February 17. Who knew that we had secured a reservation at what is undoubtedly one of the finest (and very likely the finest small) hotel in Playa del Carmen?!! My husband and I have agreed that the week we spent in Playa del Carmen was the best vacation that we have had in the 15 years we have been together - and our stay at the Playa Maya absolutely played a major part in our experience. A staff that caters to their guests generally defines the quality of a hotel stay, and there are simply not enough superlatives to describe all of the staff that served our every want and need while we stayed. They are generous with their time and attention, and cheerful and gregarious with their interactions with their guests ... This is a small hotel, and it felt like home.  Mcmemo, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • love playa maya — This was our third time staying at Playa Maya, our fifth time beaching there. It is all it says. The guests are down to earth, not fancy. The hotel is clean. The staff could not do more. The cleaning service was in our room as we left for the beach, I came back half an hour later and she was still cleaning. There was nothing to clean! The food is the best, never leave the beach for lunch elsewhere. They don't even bug you to drink, but they are always there when you need them. There is a reason they have repeat guests. Juliana and Maria and Pablo could not be more helpful. There is nothing to do but relax, my kind of vacation.  EllenNewJersey50, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • Loved the location, beach & breakfast! — This was our first time going non-AI in this area, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed for 11 nights in February 2012. Playa Maya is in a fantastic location, and it had a nice home-away-from-home feel to it. Noise was never a problem. I was worried about this, given the central location. I am a light sleeper, and I could hear some bass from Fusion during the night, but it was not enough to keep me awake. We were right close to all the action on 5th Ave and never had to walk far to find a great restaurant, or even just to pick up a mid-day gelato. There was a security guard who would ask for our room number each evening when we returned to the hotel from dinner. Cleanliness was excellent. The staff were all very pleasant. At the beach, Juan, Jesus and Lucio were attentive and pleasant at all times. Juan would even notice when I was trying to adjust my lounger, and would come and lend a hand! At the same time, they were never intrusive. We visited Mamita’s beach club and Wicky’s, but we liked the staff best at Playa Maya, and found the loungers more comfortable too. Food was very reasonably priced, in my opinion...  Dosmojito, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • Excellent stay and excellent customer service — The staff of Playa were outstanding and the rooms (we had room 301) were kept spotless. We unfortunately had our room air conditioner die the second day of our stay and the hotel had it replaced on the same day. Our included morning breakfasts were outstanding and my wife and I ate lunch 5 of the 7 days at Playa and found the meals to be a good value and very filling. As is often mentioned here, the fish tacos and coconut shrimp were excellent, but I think my favorite was their caribbean fish plate...  Hedotwo, TripAdvisor, February 2012
  • Hotel Like Home — My husband and I stayed at Playa Maya Hotel on the beach in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico the end of Jan. 2012. It was our fist stay there and it will not be our last! The rooms were clean and nice, almost all with ocean views!! The staff was extremely nice, all of them always talked to you whenever they saw you, even if it was in another part of town. The food was excellent!! We recommend the coconut shrimp!!! If you are planning on a stay in Playa Del Carmen, please think about this Hotel, well worth cost...  PlayaTravelers, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • Excellent small hotel — Very friendly small hotel located right on the beach. Felt like coming home! Clean, modern, safe, secure, very friendly, right in the heart of Playa, and very quiet - which was a concern of mine as i knew there are the all-night boom-boom clubs in the area. Minimal noise - i slept with the sliding door open, could hear the waves all night, and smell the coffee in the morning! Everything from making the reservation to checking out was effortless. Great full breakfasts are included - restaurant right on the beach. I met many long-term Playa vacationers that come spend the day here at the beach renting chairs (as opposed to other hotels or a beach club) - they said it was very friendly, knew the staff, and they come for the food as the restaurant is excellent... Moses-CJ, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • Life Doesn't Get Any Better! — This was our first time at Playa Maya and we soon realized we had made a great choice! The location can't be any better, right on the beach, just feet from the water and a constant breeze. We stayed in room 201, it had the best view each morning of the sun coming up and we enjoyed coffee there each day on the balcony.The room was quite nice and always clean. We ate all our meals at Playa Maya, the selection was great incluing the fish tacos,shrimp tacos,coconut shrimp, calamari,and the grouper! Yum! Our last night there they set up a special table{we were the last to eat} and Jesus took excellent care to make it perfect! Maria and Julianna helped us book side trips{Tulum and Selvatica} and guided us to all pick-up locations. The staff is friendly and helpful, the location is perfect{the busy shopping st., 5th is one block away}...  Dakarrs, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • The best way to relax — We loved our stay at Playa Maya. This is a hotel where people care about their jobs and strive to do well. And they are wonderful. Let me share some additional information... There is a very small pool, but if you are a "pool person" do not come here. This is a hotel for beach travelers... The rooms are very clean, a small refrigerator, safe, closet, shower, tv, view. Large and comfy beds. There are two bars a couple of doors down on either side so if a light sleeper you may hear some noise. I did, but it wasn't a problem and there were many older travelers here so it's not a nightclub atmosphere just on saturday night you may hear something. More like really mellow, to each their own, be polite and not a big party type. We met great people. Food is excellent too ....  citygirlcountrygirl, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • Outstanding. — Playa Maya is a brilliant little hotel. we came back for the second time recently, and if anything, it was even better than before. It is right on the beach - any closer to the water it would have to be a submarine. breakfast is great, the staff are lovely, the beers are cold. its only 100 m walk to anenida quinta, the main drag in playa del carmen. And although the bar/restaurant closes early (no dinner), this keeps the place quiet...  Johnos99, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • Fabulous — We stayed here over New Year in a family interconnecting room for 7 nights.It was lovely and clean with very friendly staff.Close to Calle 5 but very quiet once you step off the main street.We came from Australia to enjoy this and we certainly did.Look foreward to staying at Playa Maya again one day....  minym00, TripAdvisor, January 2012
  • Wonderful Hotel. Wonderful Stay. — Wanted to take my wife and kids (9 & 6) to somewhere warm and with great beaches. Playa Del Carmen was great. What made the trip even better was staying at Playa Maya. What a fabulous small hotel on the beach! Incredible service. GREAT food. Clean rooms. Quiet evenings (good sleep). RIGHT ON THE BEACH. Pedro, Nora, and Maria in the front desk are awesome. Always willing to help you (they even helped me retrieve my lost phone in a taxi). The restaurant staff is outstanding as well. Luiciano, Sergio, Padro, Jesus, Carlos, etc were all excellent. Always having a smile on their face and providing excellent service. Breakfast is included in the room rate. This is not a toast and jelly breakfast - it is a eggs, bacon, pancakes, fresh fruit, etc type breakfast. Great tasting coffee too... I highly recommend Playa Maya. Booking with Stephen was easy. They help you when you arrive, clean rooms, and great food & location... By the Way - My wife and I always felt safe the entire week there...  Teddison, TripAdvisor, January 2011
  • First of many visits to Playa Maya! — My wife and I just returned from a week at Playa Maya and there's no doubt we'll be back. The location was perfect. It's right in the heart of any place you'd want to go but is still a quiet escape from the tourist district. We've done all-inclusive before but have prefered, over the last several years, to find the best value in well run family-owned hotels. While we've done just that in several destinations, Playa Maya represents the best example of everything on our "most bang for the buck" checklist... [We] discussed what we might include as a "like least" or "need to change" before I wrote this and, honestly, came up dry. We could easily afford more expensive accomodations but we don't know why we ever would...  RedfishDave, TripAdvisor, July 2010
  • Loved Playa Maya! — We just returned from our trip to Playa. Playa Maya is the perfect place to be, right on the beach and a short walk to 5th Aveunue. The room, the premises super clean. The staff absolutely nice, friendly and helpful... We had a lot of options for breakfast and lunch. The Coconut Shrimp and Fish Tacos were so good. Overall, you can't beat the location, everyone was great and I'm looking forward to our next visit to Playa Maya.  yanitza7263, TripAdvisor, July 2010
  • Awesome value & location — If your primary requirements are being on the beach, convenient location, and a clean/quiet room... look no further... dksoeser, TripAdvisor, June 2010
  • Playa Paradise — What an incredible experience! Never in the time we've been together have we repeated a vacation destination, but this place warrants a return visit. That being said, I don't think we were even home a month last year and we began making plans for our return... CTCOUPLE137, TripAdvisor, June 2010